Commit d59bf7cc authored by Caughlin Bohn's avatar Caughlin Bohn
Browse files

Made jupyter main page and anaconda page more general.

parent e9b77d48
+++
title = "Jupyter Notebooks on Crane"
title = "Jupyter Notebooks"
description = "How to access and use a Jupyter Notebook"
weight = 20
+++
- [Connecting to Crane] (#connecting-to-crane)
- [Connecting to JupyterHub] (#connecting-to-jupyterhub)
- [Running Code] (#running-code)
- [Opening a Terminal] (#opening-a-terminal)
- [Using Custom Packages] (#using-custom-packages)
## Connecting to Crane
## Connecting to JupyterHub
-----------------------
Jupyter defines it's notebooks ("Jupyter Notebooks") as
an open-source web application that allows you to create and share documents that contain live code,
equations, visualizations and narrative text. Uses include: data cleaning and transformation, numerical simulation,
statistical modeling, data visualization, machine learning, and much more.
1. To open a Jupyter notebook, [Sign in](https://crane.unl.edu) to crane.unl.edu using your hcc credentials (NOT your
1. To open a Jupyter notebook, go to the address of the cluster, below [Crane](crane.unl.edu) will be used as an example, sign in using your hcc credentials (NOT your
campus credentials).
{{< figure src="/images/jupyterLogin.png" >}}
......
......@@ -19,7 +19,7 @@ straightforward.
- [Using Anaconda](#using-anaconda)
- [Installing Packages](#installing-packages)
- [Adding Packages to an Existing Environment](#adding-packages-to-an-existing-environment)
- [Using an Anaconda Environment in a Jupyter Notebook on Crane](#using-an-anaconda-environment-in-a-jupyter-notebook-on-crane)
- [Using an Anaconda Environment in a Jupyter Notebook](#using-an-anaconda-environment-in-a-jupyter-notebook)
### Using Anaconda
......@@ -169,14 +169,14 @@ conda remove -n mynumpy --all
{{< /highlight >}}
{{% /panel %}}
### Using an Anaconda Environment in a Jupyter Notebook on Crane
### Using an Anaconda Environment in a Jupyter Notebook
It is not difficult to make an Anaconda environment available to a
Jupyter Notebook. To do so, follow the steps below, replacing
`myenv` with the name of the Python or R environment you wish to use:
1. Stop any running Jupyter Notebooks and ensure you are logged out of
the JupyterHub instance at https://crane.unl.edu
the JupyterHub instance on the cluster you are using.
1. If you are not logged out, please click the Control Panel button
located in the top right corner.
2. Click the "Stop My Server" Button to terminate the Jupyter
......@@ -233,7 +233,7 @@ environments will automatically be accessible from SLURM notebooks
once this is done.
{{% /notice %}}
6. Login to JupyterHub at https://crane.unl.edu
6. Login to JupyterHub
and create a new notebook using the environment by selecting the
correct entry in the `New` dropdown menu in the top right
corner.
......
Supports Markdown
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment